CMS logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is CMS?

TL;DR
  • CMS here means Certified Manufacturing Specialist, offered through ATMAE, not any other credential sharing the acronym.
  • The exam has 180 multiple-choice questions in 120 minutes, taken online with a proctor.
  • Sixteen content areas are covered; Machining and Supervision/Management are the largest at 20 questions each.
  • Printed materials are allowed during the exam, but internet and software references are prohibited.

What CMS Actually Means Here

Search for "CMS" and you will find a crowded field: content management systems, healthcare agencies, and several professional credentials that happen to share three letters. On this site, CMS means one thing only: Certified Manufacturing Specialist. It is a manufacturing-focused certification that measures whether a candidate understands the broad technical and managerial foundations of modern production.

If you landed here looking for the web-software meaning, our pages on what a CMS is and what CMS stands for cover the naming landscape. For everything below, the subject is the manufacturing credential, and every fact refers to it alone.

The certification is built around breadth. Rather than certifying you as an expert welder or a quality auditor, it verifies that you can speak competently across the full span of manufacturing: how parts are joined, formed, cast, and machined; how materials behave; how quality is controlled; and how a production floor is planned and supervised. That breadth is the defining feature, and it shapes both the exam and the way you should prepare.

Who Runs the Credential

The Certified Manufacturing Specialist credential is administered by ATMAE, an association serving technology, management, and applied engineering programs. The official abbreviation for the credential is CMS. ATMAE arranges the examination directly, delivered as an online proctored test; no separate commercial testing vendor has been verified for this credential, so registration and scheduling run through the association rather than through a third-party test center network.

That direct arrangement matters for candidates because membership status affects what you pay. ATMAE distinguishes student members, professional members, and nonmembers, and the fee schedule below reflects those categories. For a broader overview of the credential itself, see our page on what CMS certification is.

How the Exam Is Built

The structure is straightforward, and knowing it removes a lot of anxiety before test day.

FeatureCMS Detail
Question count180 multiple-choice questions
Time allowed120 minutes
DeliveryOnline, proctored; arranged directly through ATMAE
Content areas16 official areas
Reference policyOpen book with printed materials; internet and software references prohibited
ScoringCumulative passing requirement; numerical cut score not verified
Scored vs. unscored splitNot disclosed

Do the arithmetic on the time limit: 180 questions in 120 minutes leaves roughly 40 seconds per question. That is tight for an exam that includes technical items from drafting, metrology, and electronics. You will not have time to look up every answer in your printed materials, which is why the open-book allowance is a safety net rather than a strategy.

ATMAE has not published a numerical cut score or a national pass rate, and the split between scored and unscored questions is undisclosed. We explore what can and cannot be said about those figures in our articles on the CMS passing score and the CMS pass rate. The practical takeaway: prepare for broad competence across all sixteen areas rather than hunting for a minimum number to hit.

The Sixteen Content Areas

The exam draws from sixteen official content areas. Percentages below are calculated from the published question counts out of 180 and rounded, which is why the total lands at about 100.04% rather than exactly 100%.

DomainApprox. Share
Manufacturing Joining Processes5.56%
Manufacturing Forming Processes5.56%
Manufacturing Casting Processes5.56%
Nontraditional Machining2.78%
Machining11.11%
Manufacturing Philosophies2.78%
Polymers5.56%
Industrial Materials5.56%
Computer Integrated Manufacturing5.56%
Quality8.33%
Production Planning5.56%
Wood Technology5.56%
Metrology5.56%
Supervision/Management11.11%
Technical Drafting8.33%
Electronics5.56%

For a deeper treatment of each area, our complete guide to all 16 CMS content areas walks through what each one covers. Here is the orientation you need first.

Process-oriented areas

Joining, Forming, Casting, and Nontraditional Machining

These four areas test how raw stock becomes a shaped, assembled part. Joining, forming, and casting each carry about 5.56% (10 questions), while Nontraditional Machining is the smallest area on the exam at 2.78% (5 questions).

  • Know the major process families and when each is the sensible choice
  • Be able to match a process to a material and a production volume
  • Expect conceptual questions on advantages, limitations, and typical defects

Materials-oriented areas

Polymers, Industrial Materials, and Wood Technology

Three areas, each around 5.56%, cover what products are actually made of. Wood Technology is a distinctive inclusion that surprises candidates from metalworking backgrounds.

  • Understand how material properties drive process selection
  • Distinguish the main polymer categories and their processing behavior
  • Do not skip wood: it is worth as many questions as casting or joining

Systems and measurement areas

Quality, Metrology, Technical Drafting, Electronics, and Computer Integrated Manufacturing

These areas cover how production is specified, measured, and automated. Quality (8.33%) and Technical Drafting (8.33%) are the heavier ones; Metrology, Electronics, and Computer Integrated Manufacturing each sit near 5.56%.

  • Read and interpret drawings, not just define terms
  • Know common measuring instruments and what they are suited for
  • Connect quality tools to the production problems they solve

Where the Weight Sits

Two areas stand above the rest: Machining and Supervision/Management, each worth 20 of the 180 questions (11.11%). Together they account for 40 questions, more than a fifth of the exam. Quality and Technical Drafting follow at 8.33% each (15 questions apiece).

A Notable Pairing: The two largest areas sit at opposite ends of the manufacturing world: one is hands-on shop-floor technology, the other is people and process leadership. Candidates with a purely technical background often underestimate Supervision/Management, while candidates from management tracks underestimate Machining. Check which side is your weaker one and adjust accordingly.

Meanwhile, Manufacturing Philosophies and Nontraditional Machining are the lightest areas at 2.78% each (5 questions). They still deserve a pass, since five questions can separate a comfortable result from a close one, but they should not consume the bulk of your time. Our difficulty guide discusses how the breadth, rather than any single topic, tends to be what challenges candidates.

Eligibility, Fees, and Renewal

Who can sit for the exam

Per the credential's FAQ, eligibility is tied to education: candidates are generally in the final year of a related four-year degree or have completed a related associate degree. The overview also mentions equivalent experience, but no verified numerical rule for substituting experience for a degree has been published, so anyone relying on that route should confirm details with ATMAE directly. Our CMS requirements guide covers eligibility in more depth.

What it costs

Candidate TypeFee
Student member$25
Student nonmember$50
Professional member$50
Professional nonmember$150
Institutional, assessment-only$25
Institutional, certification-inclusive group testing$75
Retake$25

The gap between member and nonmember pricing is largest for professionals: $50 versus $150. Anyone already considering ATMAE membership should weigh that difference. For the full breakdown, including renewal, see our CMS certification cost guide.

Keeping it current

Renewal is annual for one certification. A student pays $25 for membership plus $25 for the certification; a professional pays $100 for membership plus $35 for the certification. There is no professional development unit (PDU) requirement for the initial CMS credential, which keeps maintenance simple compared with credentials that demand continuing-education tracking.

Working With an Open-Book Exam

The exam is open book with printed materials, while internet and software references are prohibited. The policy on calculators and the details of remote or adaptive administration have not been verified, so confirm those with ATMAE before test day rather than assuming.

Build a Reference Packet, Not a Library: With about 40 seconds per question, you cannot browse a textbook. Use printed materials as an index of formulas, process comparisons, and definitions you have already studied. A well-organized, tabbed packet organized by the sixteen content areas beats a stack of unmarked chapters every time.

One caution on source material: the current linked official guide carries a 2009-2014 copyright and has not been verified as a 2026 revision. Use it as a map of the content areas, but cross-check anything that depends on current standards, software, or regulation. Our CMS cheat sheet is a useful model for the kind of condensed reference worth printing.

Who Benefits and Who Hires

The CMS credential is aimed at people entering or advancing within manufacturing and manufacturing technology. Because its eligibility is tied to related associate and bachelor's degree programs, the natural audience is students in industrial technology, manufacturing technology, and similar programs, along with early-career professionals who want an independent validation of broad manufacturing knowledge.

Employers who value it are those running diversified production operations, where supervisors and technologists must understand many processes at once: fabrication shops, plastics and polymer processors, wood products manufacturers, machining operations, and plants with quality and planning functions. The breadth of the credential maps well to roles like production supervisor, manufacturing technologist, quality technician, and process planner. See our CMS jobs page for the role landscape.

No verified salary figure is published for this credential, so we will not quote one. For a qualitative look at earnings context, our salary guide and the worth-it analysis discuss how to evaluate the return without relying on invented numbers.

Sequencing Your Preparation

The one piece of study planning worth doing is deciding order. Because the exam is broad and the two heaviest areas are Machining and Supervision/Management, a sensible sequence front-loads the heavy areas, then groups related topics together.

Weeks 1-2

Heavy Areas First

  • Machining: processes, tooling, and operations (20 questions)
  • Supervision/Management: leadership, planning, and personnel topics (20 questions)
Weeks 3-4

Materials and Forming Cluster

  • Joining, Forming, and Casting processes
  • Industrial Materials, Polymers, and Wood Technology
Weeks 5-6

Measurement and Systems Cluster

  • Quality, Metrology, and Technical Drafting
  • Electronics and Computer Integrated Manufacturing
  • Production Planning, Manufacturing Philosophies, Nontraditional Machining
Week 7

Timed Practice and Packet Building

  • Take full 180-question practice runs at 120 minutes
  • Finalize your tabbed reference packet

Adjust the order to your own background: if you work in a machine shop daily, shift Machining later and spend more time on drafting or management. For a fuller plan, see our CMS study guide, and when you are ready to test your recall under realistic conditions, try the CMS practice tests. Scheduling details live in our guide to CMS exam dates.

Key Takeaway

Treat the CMS as a breadth exam. Sixteen areas, 180 questions, and about 40 seconds per item reward candidates who have touched every domain over those who have mastered a few. Use practice runs from our main practice site to find the areas where your recall slows down.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CMS stand for in this context?

It stands for Certified Manufacturing Specialist, a credential administered by ATMAE. The abbreviation is shared with several unrelated credentials and with the web term for a content management system, so always confirm which one a source is discussing.

How many questions are on the exam and how long do I have?

The exam contains 180 multiple-choice questions to be completed in 120 minutes, delivered online with a proctor. ATMAE has not disclosed how many of those items are scored versus unscored.

Can I bring notes to the exam?

The exam is open book with printed materials. Internet and software references are prohibited. Policies on calculators and on remote or adaptive administration have not been verified, so check with ATMAE before test day.

Which content areas carry the most weight?

Machining and Supervision/Management are the largest, each at 20 of 180 questions (11.11%). Quality and Technical Drafting follow at 8.33% each, while Nontraditional Machining and Manufacturing Philosophies are the smallest at 2.78% each.

How much does it cost to take the exam?

Fees depend on status: $25 for student members, $50 for student nonmembers, $50 for professional members, and $150 for professional nonmembers. Institutional assessment-only testing is $25, institutional certification-inclusive group testing is $75, and a retake is $25.

Whether you are a student approaching graduation or an early-career technologist looking for a broad validation of your manufacturing knowledge, the CMS rewards organized, well-rounded preparation. Start with the weight table, build your reference packet, and move on to the full certification overview when you are ready to plan your path.

Ready to pass your CMS exam?

Put this into practice with free CMS questions across every exam domain.